top of page


Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated was founded on January 16, 1920 on the campus of Howard University in Washington D.C. Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated was founded by five illustrious African American women, Arizona Cleaver Stemons, Pearl A. Neal, Myrtle Tyler-Faithful, Viola Tyler-Goings, and Fannie Pettie Watts, known as our Five Pearls. Our five founders chose not to embrace the tenants of the other existing sororities and instead established a sorority based on the principles of Scholarship, Service, Sisterhood, and Finer Womanhood.

Zeta First

  • FIRST Greek letter organization to charter chapters in Africa in 1948

  • FIRST to operate centrally from a national headquarters

  • FIRST to form adult and youth auxiliary groups (Amicae, Pearlettes, Amicettes, and Archonettes)

  • FIRST and ONLY to be constitutionally bound to a fraternity, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Incorporated

History of Mu Xi Zeta Chapter


On October 1, 1983, a charter for Mu Xi Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incoporated was issued. The following persons were authorized to establish this chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incoporated as the graduate chapter of Baltimore County in the State of Maryland.

Rochelle Booth

Deborah Briscoe

Wanda R. Brown

Delores B. Bruton*

Elise Herrington Collier

Lisa Cunningham

Gracie L. Dawkins

Rachel Hall

Debra A. Harper

T. Joann Holly

Cornelia Jones

Emily C. Wright Cole*

Paulette Jones

Yvonne Miller

Patrycia Pickett

Vanessa Ross

Karen Lee Shuler*

Deborah Savage

Charlene Mildred Stewart*

Darlene Swain

Doreen Alease Thompson*

Jennifer C. Traynham

Angela Weeks



This group of young ladies were subjected to the laws and regulations of the General Sorority.

Soror Nathalia M. E. Roberts, State Director of Maryland, at that time, presided over the meeting of the formation of Mu Xi Zeta Chapter.  Theta Omicron Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Incorporated was the hosting chapter on the campus of Towson State University.

bottom of page